My Real Life

Laura Leclair

Bio: I'm Laura, 40-something wife of Jeff and mom to Garrett (16), Lydia (13), and Brett (5), and our two boxers, Priest and Mia. Currently I work part time as a Technical Writer for a home health software company. For many years I fit jobs into my life instead of fitting life into my job. I am fortunate enough now to have that opportunity. In the past I held roles as a Manual Writer, Associate Buyer, Executive Assistant, and Financial Analyst around several years of being a stay-at-home mom. Yes, my experience has run the gammut. As a mom many times you and your career take the back seat to the family. But I wouldn't give up the time that I had at home with my children while they were little, and the flexibility that the roles I held gave for my family. Now I am back to doing what I love. Writing! And thoroughly enjoying it. What's even better is that I get to do it from home, part time, and spend time with my children. It is wonderful to have an employer that will allow me this flexibility to keep up with my family life and be there for my children. I am a graduate of Drury University in Springfield, MO with a degree in Communication. I grew up in the small town of Kimberling City, MO. After college I moved to St. Louis, MO, and after many years of living in the St. Louis area I am back home enjoying the small town life in Springfield, and being closer to my parents. After several difficult years I have finally truly found happiness, and an amazing partner to share it with. What doesn't kill us only makes us stronger right? And with age comes experience? I have certainly gained strength and experience in the past several years and am using that to drive my new happiness. I love anything creative, but with the busy, chaotic life of children in sports, I don't get much time to partake in creative activities. I used to be "that mom" who did all of the fun and exciting projects, crafts, and fun food for the kids. Unfortunately I hate to admit that it has gone by the wayside as the years have gone by and life has gotten busier. When I have time I enjoy working on home remodeling projects, working outside in the yard, craft and home décor projects, and cooking. I enjoy spending time with my family and doing things together. We spend a lot of time at the soccer field and on the basketball court for the two older children, with the baby in tow! I enjoy ending my busy day with one glass of red wine with my husband after the kids have all gone to bed. A small amount of adult time in our busy kid-centered life. I love a long ride on a motorcycle, a boat ride in the sunshine, and a long drive on a beautiful fall day. Fall is my favorite season, I love the cooler weather and the color in the leaves. Christmas is my favorite holiday, I love the spirit of giving and the decorations and lights everywhere. We eat fairly healthy, and have recently gone gluten free. In the past year I have been focusing on removing as many chemicals as I can from our home, began using essential oils, and making my own cleaning products. Although my husband often teases me about it, there are times when he comes to appreciate the new way of life. Especially when an essential oil helps an ache or pain! I guess that's me in a nutshell!

View complete profile


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s