Here’s To Health!

As I sit here drinking my coffee, every muscle in my body feeling sore, I reflect on the past couple of days that got me to this point.

It’s a new year. Happy New Year! With the new year comes an opportunity for a new beginning, fresh start, new goals, and resolutions. I have never been one to make resolutions. Or goals for that matter. I know, if you don’t set a goal you can’t reach it. But that’s a discussion for another time. Back to resolutions. I don’t make them. I never have. But the events of New Year’s Eve made me think about it. Really think about it.

We had plans to go out to dinner with friends. I became very frustrated trying to find something nice to wear, that fit. This has been an issue the past year since the birth of my third child. I still have a few remaining pounds left, and most importantly, my body shape has changed. You know, the hips and belly pooch! Don’t pretend like you don’t know. I have tried to eat pretty healthy, and attempted to get exercise in, but real life seems to get in the way. I even cut out gluten (for other reasons, but reducing the carbs should have helped!). I tried on outfit after outfit, only becoming more frustrated. It was 6:00 pm. We were supposed to meet our friends for dinner at 8:00 pm. I still had to finish getting ready. My husband suggested that I go buy something to wear so I would feel better about myself, since I rarely buy things for myself. At first I resisted, feeling guilty, and knowing that I would be pressed for time. But then I decided he was right. So at 6:15 I headed out. My go to stores were closed because, well, it was New Year’s Eve. So I headed to the mall and quickly ran into one store, which I left empty-handed. Sigh. Let’s face it. Buying new clothes isn’t really the solution. Getting back in shape and losing the remaining weight is the solution. So I headed back home and ended up in an outfit that was too tight, which I threw a long cardigan sweater over. Ugh. Needless to say, I didn’t feel great about myself, and I was kind of depressed, especially when I saw all of the young girls in their cute little outfits. On top of not feeling good in the outfit I was wearing, I have to say, I felt old! We rarely go out, and when we were out that night, I quickly realized why. It’s just not our thing! We aren’t in our early 30’s anymore! Reality slapped me in the face.

That’s it. Enough of this. It’s time to do something about it. I have to make time in real life for myself. And I’m not one to sit around on the couch. But between having two older children involved in sports with games and practices multiples days and nights a week, running a business, working part-time, keeping up with daily life, and doing it all while taking care of a one-year old at the same time, there just never seems to be enough time. But I know that I have to make time for it, for myself and for my family. You know, when momma’s happy everyone is happy?! And in all seriousness, I have always enjoyed working out. Not only does it burn calories and tone muscle, but it gives you more energy and a sense of accomplishment that you took the time to do something for yourself. As a mom, that is extremely important. We often put ourselves back seat to care for the rest of the family. I know it, I am completely guilty of doing that all too often.
Low and behold, on New Year’s Day a friend of mine and fellow blogger, Nicole Diehl from http://heresthediehl.wordpress.com/ created a post about her year-long commitment to diet with a friend. After reading her post, it gave me the encouragement I needed to make this happen. If you are interested in dieting or getting in shape, I encourage you to read her last two posts, they are both full of some great information and encouragement. Both her and her friend are mother’s of young children, and they persevered and committed to it for the entire year. Nicole lost 29 lbs. and her friend Kelli lost 39 lbs. Way to go girls! That’s an awesome accomplishment that you should be really, really proud of. I hope that I can be as committed as they were to getting back in shape. But let’s be honest, this is real life! Only time will tell.

So, with a few suggestions that Nicole made for apps and workout routines to follow, as well as some very helpful pointers, two days ago I began my journey, working out and dieting. (If you use My Fitness Pal, find me and friend me, I would love to have a community to go through this together! My screen name is lleclair75.) And now we are full circle to why I am sitting here on the couch, every muscle in my body sore from the past two days of working out. So, although I don’t make resolutions, I do plan to diet and exercise so that I can get back in shape, and feel better. So here’s to the new year, to new beginnings, or resolutions if you make them. (I’m toasting you now with my cup of coffee.) And now, I’m off to get today’s work out in. Real life, step aside!

Leave a Reply

